A Prayer I feared….

I’m a Roman Catholic  by birth but not too much by practice. When I was a little boy and about to have my first Communion, my mother taught the basic prayers to me. The Lord’s Prayer, and The Hail Mary.

‘The following is the Hail Mary prayer:

Hail Mary! full of Grace,

The Lord is with thee.

Blessed art thou among women! And Blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus!

Holy Mary, Mother of God-

Pray for us sinners ,now and at the hour of our death. Amen!’

Every time it got to the last four words, “hour of our death”. I shivered. and wondered why we have to talk about death. As a kid I feared that part. Later in life I realised its  possible comforting meaning.

Leave a Reply

